Skip to content

VNCchannels FAQ

General Information

Q: What's a channel?
A: Channels are dedicated spaces where you can store information, share insights, and collaborate. Channels help you organize your work— you can create them for any project, topic, or team. By having the right people and information in one place, teams can share ideas, discuss animatedly, come to conclusions, reach decisions, and move forward with a common goal.

Q: What is the difference between Public and Private channels?
A: In VNCchannels, channels can be public or private.

  • Public channels are viewable to anybody on your team. They can see the channel when they browse channels, and they can join the channel if they feel that the topic is relevant to them. Topics posted in a public channel can be searched by other members of the workspace.
  • Private channels is only visible to the specific members of that channel– it will not appear in the list of a team’s browsable channels. People must be added to a private channel by the author or moderator of the channel. Topics posted in a private channel can only be searched by members of that channel.

Q: Why to use a channel?
A: You can use channels to make your teammates’ life simpler and more productive by adding channels for functions, teams, and projects. You can then create new channels to improve work organization, discoverability, and transparency.

Q: What's a topic?
A: By creating channels for different functions, projects, topics or more, you can organize team conversations in ways that work best for your team.

Channels help your teammates access important information that they need more easily and in turn, be more productive and less distracted.

Additionally, it’s also a good idea to create some good-reads or knowledge sharing channels to encourage teammates to share industry best-practices or if they read across something inspiring.

Subscribing

Q: What does subscribing sean on VNCchannels?
A: By subscribing to a particular channel on VNCchannels, you will receive instant notifications whenever new content from that channel appears.

Q: How do I find channels/topics to subscribe to?
A: All members can browse and join public channels in their workspace. For a private channel, you must be added to it by an author or moderator of that channel.

Q: How do I know what channels/topics I'm subscribing to?
A: When you're in the workspace, you can search for channels/topics by typing the subject and keyword in the search field. Click Channels or Topics under the search field to switch between result types. To search for a private channel, you need to be a member of that channel.

Q: How do I know who is subscribing to my channels/topics?
A: After you click the kebab menu icon on the channel/topic and then selecting Subscribe to the channel/topic, you're subscribing to them. See a list of channels/topics you're subscribing to by clicking the Subscribed chip under the menu bar of the left sidebar.

Channels Management

Q: Can I create a channel?
A: If you have permission to create a channel follow the steps described in the "Create a channel" chapter.

Q: Can I create a topic?
A: Any team member can create 3 types of the topic: Regular Topic, Analysis Topic, or Video Topic. See "Create a text topic in a channel", "Create a video topic in a channel", "Create an analysis topic in a channel" sections for more information.

Q: Can I edit a channel?
A: If you're an author of the channel, you can come up with a better title or description, convert the channel from public to private or vice versa, invite new users or delete current ones, add tags. See the "Edit a channel" section for more information.

Q: Can I customize topics' display?
A: There are 3 modes to display topics in a channel: Grid, Tile, Table. To manage the topics' display, click at the top right of the channel page and select a required mode from the menu. See the "Customize the display of topics" section for more information.

Q: Can I edit a topic once I've posted it?
A: Once the topic is created and published, you can rename it, come up with a better description, change the topic type, upload a new header, disable comments or make the topic private, and more. See the "Edit a topic" section for more information.

Q: Who reads channel updates?
A: If your channels/topics are public, any team member who runs a search for a keyword may be able to see those channels/topics. If you're hesitant to have some people read your updates, protect your channels/topics to approve users and keep your updates out of search.

Q: Can I convert a public channel/topic to a private?
A: When you create a channel, you can decide if it will be public or private. If a channel becomes better suited for a closed audience, it can be converted to private. You can do that by hovering the pointer over a required channel/topic and clicking the kebab menu icon . Select Edit channel/topic from the drop-down menu that opens. You'll be redirected to the Edit channel/topic page. Under the Channels type (for a channel) or Publishing settings (for a topic) sections, select Private.

Q: How to browse files within a channel?
A: All documents and media attached to the topics are stored in the "Files" tab. Visit the "Access files in a channel" section for more information.

Q: How to join a channel?
A: A public channel is viewable to anybody on your team. If you want to join a private channel, you'll need to be added by one of the channel's authors or moderators.

Accesses and rights

Q: Who can create a channel?
A: By default, anyone who has the right to create channels can create both types of channels and topics. Rights and access are granted and revoked in the VNCdirectory.

Q: What are the Author, Moderator, and Participant capabilities?
A: Every member in Channels has a role, and each one has different permissions.

  • Authors. The person who creates a channel is the channel author and the channel author can directly add or remove people from it.
  • Moderators. Moderators are assigned by authors. They can edit a channel, restore a deleted channel, as well as add new users to a channel.
  • Participants. All the other users in the channel are considered participants. Participants have fewer capabilities than moderators or authors, but there's still a lot they can do.

The following table shows the capabilities available for each role:

Action Private channel author Private channel moderator Private channel participant
Delete private channel Yes No No
Unsubscribe from a channel Yes, if the moderator is assigned Yes, if the channel has the author Yes
Edit private channel Yes Yes No
Restore a deleted private channel Yes Yes No
Add members Yes Yes No
Create a topic Yes Yes Yes
Archive a channel Yes Yes Yes