Skip to content

VNCsocial Overview

Updated till 1.6 version

VNCsocial is a secure microblogging and social networking product for professional use, accessible directly in VNCtalk.

VNCsocial users can share their thoughts, news, real-time information in 320 characters of text or less. Registered users can engage with other VNCsocial users by asking and responding to questions as well as sharing interesting links.

VNCsocial characteristics:

  • Use the @ symbol and a user name to mention another person in a post - ie @mia.chestrefield. When you do this, they'll see a notification that they've been mentioned. Keep in mind that messages sent this way are still public.
  • You can also repost messages to rebroadcast a post to everyone following you. Reposting can be a great way of building connections and relationships.
  • If you want to save someone's post for later, you can like it or add it to bookmarks.
  • A topic with a hash symbol (#) at the start is known as a hashtag. VNCsocial hashtags like #design help organize information while helping also spread it.
Feature Description
Posts A Post is any message posted to VNCsocial that can contain photos, videos, links, and text. Click or tap the Send button to post the update to your profile. For more information, refer to "Create a post" section.
Repost A Repost is when you republish or forward a post to your followers. For more information, refer to "Repost a post" section.
Followings Following someone means you've chosen to subscribe to their VNCsocial updates. When you follow someone, every time they publish a new post, it will appear on your Stream.
Followers Followers are the users that follow you; these followers can see your posts on their Stream.
Replies A Reply is a response to another user’s Post. Click or tap the reply icon on another user's Post to reply to it. For more information, refer to "Reply to a post" section.
Scheduled posts You can create a post and schedule it for publication in the future. For more information, refer to "Schedule a post" section.
Bookmarks Bookmarks allow you to save content for easy access later on. If you don't want to lose a Post, the "Bookmarks" feature come in handy. For more information, refer to "Add a post to bookmarks" and "Manage your bookmarks" sections
Mentions A mention is a Post that contains another person’s username anywhere in the body of the Post.

Documentation references: