Skip to content

VNCproject Meta Roadmap Feature

Scope

VNCproject's Meta Roadmap feature allows the user to create global roadmaps, beyond project boundaries.

Workflow and usage

You can access the Meta Roadmap as second item from VNCproject's main menu bar:



Once opened, you will get a list of all meta roadmaps, you created or which are shared to you by other users, displayed. The meta-roadmaps, you have access to, are displayed by Name, Author, Description and a fourth, untitled column.
Besides a dropdown menu to select various filter options, you also have a button NEW META ROADMAP, in the top-right of the screen, available:



Create New Meta Roadmap

To create a new roadmap, click on NEW META ROADMAP, which will open an input dialog via popup window:



Now fill in the respective information needed in order to create a new Meta Roadmap:

Input Field Content
Name The title of the new meta-roadmap
Description Enter any information regarding the new roadmap and its purpose
Available columns Select the columns you want to have displayed in you meta roadmap for each member ticket by double-clicking on the respective item or select which items you want and then click on the right arrow (>) icon to add them to *Selected columns
Selected columns remove previously selected columns by double clicking on them or select them and press the left arrow button (<) to get them removed from display.
Sort selected columns Using the arrow-keys on the right side, allows you to sort the selected columns as you please.
CREATE create your new roadmap
CANCEL discard the values you entered and cancel the roadmap creation process

Meta Roadmap Details View

Once the new meta roadmap has been created or you open an existing one by clicking on it in the overview screen, the respective meta-roadmap's details view opens, displaying the information, illustrated here:



In order to see what operations you can perform on a a roadmap, you own or have the proper rights for, go back to the overview screen.
If you are allowed to perform operations on the roadmap, you will see a Kebab-menu appearing, when hovering over the fourth column of that roadmap. Once you click on it, an options menu will open as illustrated in the image below which lists the available Roadmap Operations you can perform:



Roadmap Operations

Edit Meta Roadmap

To edit a meta roadmap, select the respective option from the popup menu, which then will open the EDIT META ROADMAP dialogue as displayed in the image below:



Once done, editing, click on the UPDATE button in order to save your changes.

Delete Meta Roadmap

To delete a meta roadmap, just click on the respective option Delete meta roadmap in the menu, which will trigger a confirmation dialogue to appear:



  • click CANCEL to stop the deletion process and close the dialogue.
  • click Yes to go on and delete the meta roadmap.

Close Meta Roadmap

To close a meta roadmap, just click on the respective option Close meta roadmap in the menu, which will trigger a confirmation dialogue to appear:



  • click CANCEL to stop the closing process.
  • click Yes to go on and close the meta roadmap,which has the consequuence, that it will not be displayed anymore.

Archive Meta Roadmap

The Archive operation will hide the meta roadmap from the active display and will move it to the list of archived roadmaps.
To perform this operation, just click on the respective option Archive meta roadmap in the menu, which will trigger a confirmation dialogue to appear:



  • click CANCEL to stop the archiving process and keep the roadmap active.
  • click Yes to go on and move this active meta roadmap to the archive. You can still access it from the overview screen, by setting the display filter to archived.

Create Add Meta Tasks

You can create and add so called Meta tasks to an existing roadmap.
. For that, open the meta-roadmap, where you like to add a new Meta Task to and click on the Add meta task button in the top-right corner, which will trigger the input mask for the new meta task to appear:



Now fill in the respective information needed in order to create and add a new Meta Task to the roadmap:

Input Field Content
Name The title of the new meta-task
Scope Enter the task description here
Timeframe Enter a start and due date for the new task
Parent task If you desire to add this task as a subtask to an existing task, add the ID of this other task a parent task here.
Attachments Add an attachments, by pulling it via drag and drop to the respective input field or click the Browse button to open your file browser dialogue to select file(s) to attach.
Preview check layout and formatting of the task you are about to create how it will be displayed eventually if the task would be created just now
CANCEL discard the values you entered and cancel the roadmap creation process
SAVE create your new meta task

Once done, your new meta-task will be displayed in the meta-roadmap as illustrated below:



Share Meta-Roadmap

In case you have the proper rights to the roadmap provided by the owner or you are the owner, you have also the option to Share the meta-roadmap.
If so, once opened the respective meta-roadmap, click on the Share button right of the Add meta task button:



which will open the Sharing menu as illustrated below:



In the opening popup-dialogue, you can share your meta-roadmap to other users.
To add a user,

  • Enter the username or a subterm of it into the Search user input field and select the desired user from the proposed search results.
  • Now select the rights, you wish to grant to this user from the dropdown menu, where you have at your disposal:
    • can view
    • can comment
    • can edit
  • Once selected the respective right you wish to grant, click the SHARE button
  • Now the user (column1) and the given right (column2) will be displayed in the share table of this meta-roadmap.
  • The added user will be informed via eMail that he now has access to this meta-roadmap and the respective roadmap will be displayed in the remote user's overview list.
  • To withdraw the share and granted right from a user again, click on the transhbin (column3) for that user in the share table.
  • To close the Share Interface, click on CANCEL