Skip to content

VNCsafe User Manual

Introduction

Use your data with your smartphone, Windows, Linux or Mac computer or via a web browser. Wherever and whenever you need it.

How to open VNCsafe

Open the domain provided by your administrator and enter your login credentials:

Press Enter or click on the arrow icon next to your user password.

After the login you can see the landing page which splits up into three main parts:

The home page of VNCsafe is divided into different areas:

  1. Left Navigation Bar: This is your menu navigation for your saved items and the first setting menu.
  2. Right field: Here you can see the folder overview or the individual files stored in your safe.
  3. Personal menu: The personal menu guides you to your personal settings and to the help function. You can also log out of VNCsafe via this button.

Configuration

The main configurations are made by the administrator.

Individual settings

The user can make certain settings that make it easier for him to work. The user has the following options:

Storage

For this chapter please refer the Owncloud or Nextcloud manual.

Security

Here you can see when and from which browser your VNCsafe was accessed. You also have the option to whitelist certain domains. This gives you the ability to access your VNCsafe through other domains. The app password protects access to your VNCsafe when accessed through an app.

Storage

For this chapter please refer the Owncloud or Nextcloud manual.

How is VNCsafe used?

First steps - the interface

The view in the following figure is available after opening VNCsafe:

The home page of VNCsafe is divided into different areas:

  1. Left Navigation Bar: This is your menu navigation for your saved items and the first setting menu.
  2. Right field: Here you can see the folder overview or the individual files stored in your safe.
  3. Personal menu: The personal menu guides you to your personal settings and to the help function. You can also log out of VNCsafe via this button.

View mode

There are two ways to switch between file and gallery view: 1. the button Files in the file view or gallery in the gallery view 2. the small button on the right below your login name

The file view displays folders and files in list form, while the gallery displays a tiled preview.

All files

The default selection shows all stored files and folders, starting with the Start directory.

Favorites

You can mark files and folders that you need most often as favorites. To do this, move the mouse over the desired object and click on the star symbol in front of the object name. This is then displayed permanently in yellow.

Click on Favorites in the left navigation bar to display your selected objects.

Shared with you

In this category you will find all the folders and files that others have shared with you.

Shared with others

Here you can see all the content you've shared directly with other users or groups. At the end of the line you can see who you shared the object with.

In this menu you can see which files you have shared as a link.

Tags

You can label each file and folder with tags. These are keywords with which objects from different folders can be displayed together.

The search bar for the tags shows you all the tags you or other users have created. In the list of results, you will see all the files and folders that have the appropriate tag and for which you have the required access rights.

Creating and Managing Objects

Create folders

Click the + button in the file view and then "Folder".

Then name the folder and press Enter.

Then, the folder is created in the directory where you are. If you open another folder before creating the new one, you can also create subfolders. You can also move folders by dragging the folder to another one while holding down the left mouse button.

Upload files

Click on the + button and then click "Upload". The file search opens and you can select the files that you want to store in the VNCsafe. Uploading multiple objects is possible. by pressing the Ctrl key while selecting. If you want to select individual files for several files in a row, press Shift while selecting. Then click Öffnen or Open (depending on the language setting of your operating system).

While the files are uploaded, a status bar shows the remaining time of the upload. You can cancel the upload by clicking on the X button next to the status bar.

You can then open the files in your VNCsafe:

If you e.g. open an image, you have several ways to interact with it:

  1. next/previous image: With the arrow icons right and left you can skip the single images.
  2. With the Play button at the bottom right, the pictures change automatically after a few seconds.
  3. with the X in the upper right corner you close the full screen view
  4. Das Papierkorb-Symbol oben rechts ermöglicht das Löschen der Datei.
  5. Use the circle icon to rotate the image clockwise

Delete files

Delete single files

You can delete single files by clicking in the file view the menu.

The second option is accessible from full screen view and the trash icon:

Please note: The file is deleted immediately after pressing the respective button, no confirmation is requested.

Delete multiple files

In File view, check the image you want to delete, and then click "Delete" in the top right corner.

Restore files

To display the deleted objects (folders and files), click on the "deleted files" button at the bottom left:

You can also restore deleted files and folders:

1. Single files: Click on the Restore button next to the file name (1) 2. Multiple Objects: In File View, check the box of each object you want to restore, and then click Restore in the top right corner. If you click Delete, the objects are removed from the Recycle Bin and permanently deleted.

Manage objects

You have a choice of options from the Object menu:

Details

Here you can set tags. These are so-called keywords that make it easier to find objects again. It also lets you view files from different folders if they have the same tag.

You can also rename or delete the tags at any time.

  1. You can also enter a comment, edit it later or delete it.
  2. You can share files and folders with single users and groups
  3. and shae objects via links

Details see chapter "Sharing".

Renaming objects

You can easily rename files and folders using the File menu:

Download files
  1. single files: By clicking on the button Download in the file menu

  1. multiple files: Select all the files you want to download and click on the Download button in the top right corner. Then the files are saved in a .zip file on your device.

Share files and folders

Share with single users or groups

Click on the share button in the file menu. Then the dialog box opens on the right to share the file with single users and groups.

You can individually set specific permissions for each person or group: 1. can share: the user is able to share the object with other users 2. can edit: the user can add comments and tags and edit the object (e.g., text files) 3. can change: The user can edit the shared object and replace it with a newer version.

By clicking on the trash icon you revoke all rights for the user or the group.

You can also share a file or folder by using a link. To do this, go to Public Links in the Sharing menu of Users and Groups and click Create Public Link.

Here you have the option to set a password and expiration date for your link.

Then click Share.

If you have created the link, you have additional options:

  1. Copy to clipboard: You can copy the link from the clipboard, e.g. in emails and chat messages.
  2. Edit: Here you can change the expiration date and the password.
  3. Share: With this button you can share the link in various social media, such as Facebook, Diaspora, Google+ or Twitter
  4. Delete: Here you can delete the link completely, it is then no longer available to others.

Copyright © 2018 VNC - Virtual Network Consult AG, Poststraße 24, 6301 Zug, Switzerland - www.vnc.biz